Skip to main content

AAS 525 Research Methods in African American Studies (Fall 2017): Finding Journal Articles

Databases A-Z

A list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data, and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Use the Journal Locator

The journal locator is a list of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category.
 
Use the box below to search by journal title.
 

Finding Articles Using Databases

Databases

These are electronic indexes that you can search to locate journal articles, books, and book chapters. To access any of the databases from off campus, you will be prompted for your NET ID and password. For additional assistance with this, please go to the instructions for remote access to databases.

 

Recommended Databases:

For a beginning attempt looking for articles, you might want to
START HERE FIRST:

Proquest - ProQuest is a collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
 

Social Sciences Full Text - Index with abstracts in sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.

 

 

General:

JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences.

Scopus - Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage includes Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature.

 

African-American Studies Databases:

Black Studies Center - Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. and much more.

Black Thought and Culture - Collection of non-fiction writings by prominent black American figures, plus transcripts of their speeches, interviews, trials and other fugitive material.

Ethnic NewsWatch - Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

Race Relations Abstracts - Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

 

Sociology Databases:

GenderWatch - Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Sociological Abstracts - Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and dissertations covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences from over 3000 sources. Covers 1963 to the present; updated six times per year.

Types of Periodical Articles

Some suggested key words to find research articles:

Qualitative research

Quantitative

Surveys

Participant Observation

Longitudinal Studies

Sampling

Empirical

Theory

Also: Critiques