Skip to main content

CFS 204- Applied Research Methods in Child and Family Studies (Fall 2017): Find Articles (Step 1)

Resources for the library research portion of the CFS 204 research assignment.

Databases to Find Citations to Articles, including Refereed Articles (Step 1 in Finding Articles)

Use databases to begin searching for articles and information on your topic. You will retrieve citations. Some databases also offer full-text articles. Most of these databases are subscribed to by the library and are only available to SU faculty, staff, and students. If you are off campus, you will be asked to enter your NetID and password to log in to the database.

General Databases that cover many topics:
Proquest - vendor: Proquest

Omnifile - vendor: EBSCO

Databases that cover specific subject areas:

Psychology
PsycInfo: Psychological Abstracts (1887-Present)- vendor: EBSCO

Social Work
Social Services Abstracts - vendor: Proquest

Older Adults
AgeLine  vendor:EBSCO

Education and Children
Education Source - vendor: EBSCO

ERIC - vendor: EBSCO

Find the Full Text Article

Sometimes you will only see an "abstract," or summary, of the article.  You need the full article.  Try the SULinks button   to see if it goes to the full article.  If not, you could try using Interlibrary loan to order the article for free.  SU's Library will try to get the article from another library and email it to you, often as quickly as in a few days.

Databases that cover many topics and allow Cited Searching:

SCOPUS - vendor: Reed Elsevier
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature includes 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 open-access journals, 500 conference proceedings, over 600 trade publications, and 200 book series. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents.

Web of Science - vendor: Elsevier
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Coverage includes the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) from 1899-present, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) from 1898-present and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) from 1975-present.

 For more help:

See more CFS and Social Work related databases


More help Finding Full Text Once You Have a Citation (Step 2 in Finding Articles)